Rakeback.com - Don't play poker without it


22 Players Committed to Enter $1 Million Buy-in at 2012 WSOP

by Matt Kaufman, Rakeback.com Poker News Editor

In June, the World Series of Poker (WSOP) announced a partnership with Cirque du Soleil founder Guy Laliberte to host the "Big One for ONE DROP", a $1 million buy-in tournament with 11.11% of each buy-in going towards Laliberte's charity, ONE DROP. ONE DROP's primary goal is to help provide access to clean water to residents of underdeveloped countries.

When Doyle Brunson won the WSOP Main Event in 1976, there were 22 entrants in the field. Since then, for a WSOP tournament to award a bracelet, it must have at least 22 players in it. When the "Big One for ONE DROP" was first announced, many members of the poker world questioned whether or not the tournament could draw the necessary 22 players to award a bracelet.

This week, the WSOP officially announced that the "Big One for ONE DROP" will be a bracelet event, as they have commitments from 22 players to participate. The event is set to take place on July 1, 2012. 

The players committed to anteing up the whopping $1 million include Guy Laliberte, Bobby Baldwin, Phil Ruffin, Andy Beal, Patrik Antonius, Gus Hansen, Daniel Negreanu, Johnny Chan, Tom Dwan, Tony Guoga, Jonathan Duhamel, Bertand "ElkY" Grospellier, Sean O'Donnell, and Dan Shak. In addition, at least 3 seats will be awarded in satellites.

The winner of the event will take home a platinum WSOP bracelet and a sum of money expected to significantly exceed the 1st place prize in the 2012 WSOP Main Event. The event should raise millions for charity and provide poker fans with some top-notch entertainment when it airs on ESPN. The only downside is for the players who find themselves $1 million poorer.

comments powered by Disqus

Top Rakeback Offers

View all rakeback offers

Check Out These Sites

Join Banc de Binary
>> Bet on asset value changes

Join Option FM
>> Try your skill at trading Bitcoins