Rakeback.com - Don't play poker without it


WPT Rookie wins L.A. Poker Classic

By Ian Hiaring, Rakeback.com Poker News Staff Writer

L.A. Poker Classic Champion Gregory BrooksYouth was served at the L.A. Poker Classic Main Event, as a 23 year old WPT rookie denied Carlos Mortensen record fourth title.

Gregory Brooks didn’t hold the chip lead as the final table got underway, but he managed to grab it just three hands into play, and never looked back as the cruised to victory in a final table that lasted just 96 hands.

The New Jersey native won a WPT title in first attempt when he flopped top pair with his 8-7 offsuit, and Vivek Rajkumar’s gutshot straight didn’t fill in. Rajkumar won his first and only WPT title at the 2008 Borgata Poker Open to join Mortensen as the only players at the final table with WPT victories.

Brooks, a mostly unknown player who’s largest cash to date was for just over $6,000, not only won the WPT trophy, but took home $1.7 million for his win.

2011 WPT L.A. Poker Classic Main Event Final Table Results

1.    Gregory Brooks        $1,654,120
2.    Vivek Rajkumar        $908,730
3.    Carlos Mortensen    $640,680
4.    Amir Lehavot        $421,680
5.    Steve  Gross        $304,000
6.    Darryll Fish        $235,350

The next stop for the WPT Tour is the Bay 101 Shooting Star Tournament in San Jose, California March 14-18.

comments powered by Disqus

Top Rakeback Offers

View all rakeback offers

Check Out These Sites

Join Banc de Binary
>> Bet on asset value changes

Join Option FM
>> Try your skill at trading Bitcoins