Rakeback.com - Don't play poker without it


World Team Poker Championship Returns for 2011

By Ian Hiaring, Rakeback.com Poker News Staff Writer

world-team-pokerThe World Team Poker Championship trophy has belonged to China for a year. This May, 18 other countries, perhaps more, will be looking to prevent the Chinese from defending their title.

Last year’s inaugural World Team Poker Championship was decided in dramatic fashion, with Team China pulling out a victory over Team Brazil with a memorable comeback at the final table. The 2010 format was a shoot-out, with LHE, PLO, and NLHE in the mix. There’s been no official word on whether or not the format will be changed for the 2011 version of the tournament though.

This year, the title will be up for grabs again when the 2011 World Team Poker Championship takes place at The South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa in Las Vegas, Nevada, May 24-26.

Eighteen teams are scheduled to play.

  • Team Australia
  • Team Brazil
  • Team Canada
  • Team China
  • Team England
  • Team Germany
  • Team Greece
  • Team Iran
  • Team Israel
  • Team Italy
  • Team Korea
  • Team Lebanon
  • Team Pakistan
  • Team Russia
  • Team Spain
  • Team Ukraine
  • Team Vietnam
  • Team USA

Another Wild Card team of celebrities captained by Los Angeles Lakers owner Dr. Jerry Buss will be competing Other teams are sure to be in the mix but haven’t yet finalized their rosters.

comments powered by Disqus

Top Rakeback Offers

View all rakeback offers

Check Out These Sites

Join Banc de Binary
>> Bet on asset value changes

Join Option FM
>> Try your skill at trading Bitcoins